September Mystery Box Cupcake Challenge

12 Oct

Rootbeer Cupcake
1 box of White Cake Mix
1 1/3 cup of water
2 Tablespoons Vegetable Oil
3 Large whole eggs
3 Tablespoons Rootbeer Extract
24 cut bendable straws
24 cupcake liners of your choice
-Blend eggs, then add oil and water, then extract.
-Bake at 350* for 19 minutes.
Very Vanilla Buttercream
1 stick of Unflavored Crisco
1 stick of Unsalted Butter
1 lb of Powdered Sugar
3 Tablespoons Milk
2 Tablespoons Vanilla Extract
-Blend all carefully on stir until ingredients are combined.
-Then on high for about 2 minutes until smooth and creamy.

  It feels like summer disappears quicker each year.  One of my favorite childhood memories is vanilla ice cream in a cold Stewart’s Rootbeer float. The bubbly, cold rootbeer in a cool glass bottle and the creamy, french vanilla ice cream. The combination of bitter rootbeer and creamy ice cream created a creamy layer.  It was the perfect way to get through a summer afternoon. 
    When I was in high school,  my Dad asked me to pick one up on my way home from my Mom’s house one day. I ordered and they handed me a large straw, the cup containing the float, a plastic top and an extra cup. I was puzzled. I walked out of the restaurant to the car. Trying to consolidate, I (stupidly) put the plastic top on the float and figured out what the extra cup was for…overflow! Bubbles, soda and melted ice cream everywhere! 

Leave a Reply

