Basic Gingerbread that I add everything to!

20 Nov

1 1/2 cups dark molasses

1 cup packed brown sugar

2/3 cup cold water

1/3 cup shortening

7 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground allspice

2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon ground cloves

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

-Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease one cookie sheet.

-Mix together the molasses, brown sugar, water and shortening.

-Sift together the flour, baking soda, salt, allspice, ginger, cloves and cinnamon. Add to sugar mixture and mix well. Cover and refrigerate for 2 hours.

-Once chilled, I divide the dough so I can make some plain and some with other goodies. I put a dozen thumb size balls of the plain dough on the greased cookie sheet spaced about two inches apart. Bake for 11 mins of until they look a minute away from done. Pull them and let them sit on the tray on top of the oven for a few minutes. Then place on a cooling rack.

-For the ones with goodies I add 1/4 cup of cranberries, cherries or caramel bits. Then maybe 1/4 of white or dark chocolate chips. Thumb size balls about 2 inches apart and bake for about 10 mins. Remove from tray immediately for chewy or leave on the tray for a ginger snap.

7 Responses to “Basic Gingerbread that I add everything to!”

  1. Jaunita Belue January 4, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    I have built a website and and i want to change the theme.I got some ideas from here! You could visit my website and tell me your opinion!

  2. John January 5, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    Hi there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoyed reading this.

    • swederside January 5, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

      Glad to hear your listening…or baking along!

  3. Betting Euro2012 Promotional Code January 5, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Happy New Year! I want to thankx for the time you have contributed in writing this article. I am hoping the same best article from you in the future as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me to start my own blog now. Truly the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a good model of it.

  4. treating internal hemorrhoids January 6, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    I really value your work , Great post.

  5. quick and easy loan January 12, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    Finally, got what I was looking for!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it. Glad I stumbled into this post! smile I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

Leave a Reply

