Rosewater and new beginnings.

5 Mar

Once again I have to an absence. The good news is I graduated from Le Cordon Bleu in December.  I now have an Associates Degree in Hospitality and Restaurant Management. Another step forward to the bakery of my dreams.

The bad news, I suffered the loss of two more things I loved, my dog Peanut and my great grandfather. After all this, you would think the corners of my house could not hold another drop of rosewater.

This was our very loved dog Peanut. He was our angel from Valentine’s day 2007-January 2012. He meant the world to my husband, myself and the kids. We have a new puppy, but there will never be another Peanut Butter Sweder. He was probably the best pound puppy we could have ever asked for.

Peanut died because of complications from diabetes. I will expand more on this later because I have been inspired by him and the new puppy to try and provide better treats and gifts for our animal best friends. Expect easy craft projects and delicious goodies in the near future.

 

 

 

This is my great-grandfather. He lived 100 years and was going to be celebrating

his 100th year in August.  He was born the year the Titanic sank, lived through two World Wars and delivered milk to the Kennedy Compound.  Most importantly, he was a humble man who loved seeing his family happy.  He was not interested in extravagances but was an extraordinary person.  He helped found the VFW in Hyannis where he would watch the planes at Hyannis Airport take off.  I remember stories of Air Force One landing and a near miss on the runway all while he was drinking his one Miller Lite. He taught the family to clam and could tell you a story about every landmark on Cape Cod. I remember being so excited when he would show up in his car at the Cape house and I loved going to the Clam Bakes around his birthday.  I am pretty sure the salt water was what kept him around for so long. He will be missed.

So now what. My family will be moving to Colorado Springs soon. Part of me is excited, but part of me is scared of the memories I will lose when we leave Minot. I hate leaving without Peanut, I am scared of the unknown. But I will get over that and I am sure life will be great again. Baking is going to be a new learning experience because of the altitude difference and I have never encountered that issue.  Should be fun.  Just ready for some good to happen, I think it is on its way.

One Response to “Rosewater and new beginnings.”

  1. Meg March 5, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Sorry about all the hard things you’ve had these past few months… but excited for you to be in Colorado Springs. Take a look at Pie in the Sky: Successful Baking at High Altitudes by Susan G. Purdy. I’ve had a lot of good luck with her cake and muffin recipes!

Leave a Reply

